Classical KUSC | Pacific Symphony in Concert



Saturday, 8PM

Hear classical music with a hint of jazz this Saturday on KUSC and We’re broadcasting the Pacific Symphony live from the Renee and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall Saturday starting at 8PM. Pianist Simone Dinnerstein joins the symphony for music that marries classical and jazz, from Ives and Ravel, to Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue. Pacific Symphony and Simone Dinnerstein live on KUSC this Saturday at 8PM with your host Rich Capparela.


Broadcast Schedule

Sunday, May 1 | 7 pm

Jesús López-Cobos, conductor
Garrick Ohlsson, piano

Christobal Halffter: Tiento del primer tono y batalla imperial (West Coast Premiere)
Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1
Dvořák: Symphony No. 8

Sunday, May 8 | 7 pm

Esa-Pekka Salonen, conductor
Yefim Bronfman, piano

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1
Mahler: Symphony No. 1

Sunday, May 15| 7 pm

Gustavo Dudamel, conductor
Sergio Tiempo, piano

John Williams: Soundings
Ginastera: Piano Concerto No. 1
Andrew Norman: Play: Level I
Copland: Appalachian Spring

Sunday, May 22 | 7 pm 

Gustavo Dudamel, conductor

Tamara Mumford, mezzo-soprano
Women of LA Master Chorale
LA Children’s Chorus

Mahler: Symphony No. 3

Sunday, May 29 | 7 pm

John Adams, conductor
Leila Josefowicz, violin

Respighi: Pines of Rome
Respighi: Fountains of Rome
Adams: Scheherazade.2 (West Coast Premiere)

Sunday, June 5 | 7 pm

Gustavo Dudamel, conductor

Lucy Crowe, soprano
Roxana Constantinescu, mezzo-soprano
Paul Appleby, tenor
Luca Pisaroni, bass-baritone
Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir
Kaspars Putniņš, artistic director
Latvian Radio Choir
Sigvards Kļava, artistic director

Arvo Pärt: Miserere
Mozart: Requiem

Sunday, June 12 | 7 pm

Gustavo Dudamel, conductor

Mozart: Symphony No. 25, K 183/173dB
Arvo Pärt: Greater Antiphons (World premiere; LAPA comission)
Mozart: Symphony No. 40, K. 550

Sunday, June 19 | 7 pm

Gustavo Dudamel, conductor
Carrie Dennis, viola

Kodaly: Dances of Galánta
Bartok: Viola Concerto
Ligeti: Apparitions
Bartok: Miraculous Mandarin Suite

Stay in the Loop

Receive our free monthly email newsletter filled with informative

commentary, news of upcoming events, special programming, one-time-only offers and much more. Sign up now!