articles / Classical Californians

Classical Californians: Nicholas McGegan

Content image

Dario Acosta

This week’s Classical Californian is conductor Nicholas McGegan, Music Director Laureate of Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra and Chorale, who bookends his selections with a pair of works by English composers Benjamin Britten and Sir Edward Elgar. In between are piano trios by Schubert and Haydn, and operatic arias by Mozart and Vivaldi. Along the way we’ll hear him tell about a memorable rehearsal playing flute in a student orchestra as Britten himself conducted, and page-turning for the accompanist during a recital of one his favorite sopranos.

He starts with a quintessentially British work that he has several connections to - Benjamin Britten's A Midsummer Night's Dream, featuring countertenor Alfred Deller as Oberon. For the broadcast, he chose the closing of the opera, at 2:19:06 (if you want a direct link to the spot, click here.)

Nicholas McGegan - 1

Benjamin Britten: A Midsummer Night's Dream (finale is at 2:19:06)

Then, it's a timeless piano trio by Schubert, his Adagio - Notturno, played by the Beaux Arts Trio.

Nicholas McGegan - 2

Franz Schubert: 'Notturno' Piano Trio

The first of two operatic arias now, soprano Irmgard Seefried singing "Deh vieni" from Mozart's Marriage of Figaro.

Nicholas McGegan - 3

Mozart: Marriage of Figaro, 'Deh vieni'

Nicholas McGegan's only Baroque selection is next, with Vivica Genaux singing the fiery aria "Come in vano il mare irato" by Antonio Vivaldi.

Nicholas McGegan - 4

Vivaldi: "Come in vano il mare irato" from Catone in Utica

Off to Hungary now, with the finale of a Piano Trio by Haydn, #18 in A Major, Rondo.

Nicholas McGegan - 5

Haydn: Piano Trio #18 in A, finale

And to finish, a return to England, with Dame Janet Baker singing "Sabbath Morning" from Sir Edward Elgar's Sea Pictures.

Nicholas McGegan - 6

Elgar: "Sabbath Morning" from Sea Pictures

Published on 03.20.2024